After 1 Round, Thoughts On Quail Hollow’s Greens

Angel Cabrera taps in a par putt on Quail Hollow's 13th green.

Angel Cabrera taps in a par putt on Quail Hollow’s 13th green.

There has been a lot of hullabaloo about the condition of the greens at Quail Hollow, home of the Wells Fargo Championship. After watching Golf Channel’s round 1 coverage, I had some thoughts.

The image at the top of this post is from my TV, I thought it was a good representation of the condition that most of the greens appeared to be in. And I know that I’m not in Charlotte to get an in-person look at the putting surfaces, so it is only what I see on TV.

That said, here are my thoughts about the condition of the greens:

  1. They look bad…not just brown, crusty, late Sunday of a US Open, but just poorly conditioned.
  2. If I were paying for a round of golf and saw that the course had greens that looked like this, I would go to another course or go home.
  3. If I were playing for free at a course with greens looking like this, I’d play without complaint .
  4. If I were in a competitive situation and the greens at the course looked like this, I would play without complaint, knowing that there are other players who would allow the condition of the greens to affect their mental approach. (At least I’d like to think I’d be able to do this.)
  5. Lastly, this is an anomaly. Charlotte had a bad growing season, so it’s possible that the greens might not have been “perfect” this week anyway. Moreover, Quail Hollow is usually one of the best conditioned courses on the Tour each year. It has already been selected to host the 2017 PGA Championship, an honor that would not have come if the course was not usually in pristine shape.

Going back to point number 4, each player in the field has to putt these greens, in all four rounds. Much like a tournament where bad weather plays a major role, a number of players will be effectively eliminated because of an inability to adjust/cope with the adverse conditions.

Moving forward, Quail Hollow will be redoing their greens after this week anyway, replacing the current surfaces with mini-verde Bermuda. I’m told (by a PGA Pro friend of mine) that this strain of grass is better suited to the weather in Charlotte, so I believe it. You can bet everything that next year’s Wells Fargo Championship will have NO issues with the greens.

Leave a Reply

